Classification of dog breeds according to the FCI

The FCI ⓘ (Federation Cynologique Internationale) recognize 337 races and each is 'owned' by a specific country. The countries 'owners' of these breeds set the breed standard (detailed description of the ideal breed type) - in collaboration with the FCI Scientific and Standards Commissions - whose translation and updating is carried out by the FCI.

Complete guide to dog breeds: FCI classification

Group 1: Shepherd Dog and Cattle Dogs (except Swiss Cattle Dogs)

Section 1: Sheepdogs
Section 2: Dogs Boyeros (except Swiss boyeros)

Group 2: Pinscher and Schnauzer Dogs - Molossoids - Swiss Mountain Dogs and Cattlemen

Section 1: Tipo Pinscher y Schnauzer
Section 2: Molossoid
Section 3: Swiss Mountain and Cattledogs

Group 3: Terriers

Section 1: Large and medium sized Terriers
Section 2: Small sized Terriers
Section 3: Bull type Terriers
Section 4: Toy Terriers

Group 4: Dachshunds

Section 1: Dachshunds

Group 5: Spitz and Primitive Type Dogs

Section 1: Nordic Sledge Dogs
Section 2: Nordic hunting dogs
Section 3: Nordic guard and herding dogs
Section 4: European Spitz
Section 5: Asian Spitz and similar breeds
Section 6: Primitive type
Section 7: Primitive type - hunting dogs
Section 8: Primitive type hunting dogs with a crest on the back

Group 6: Hound Dogs, Trail Dogs and Similar Breeds

Section 1: Hound type dogs
Section 2: Trail dogs
Section 3: Similar breeds

Group 7: Sample Dogs

Section 1: Continental show dogs
Section 2: english and irish show dogs

Group 8: Hunting Dogs - Hunting Dogs - Water Dogs

Section 1: Bailiffs of hunting dogs
Section 2: Flushing Dogs
Section 3: Water dogs

Group 9: Companion Dogs

Section 1: Bichones and related breeds
Section 2: Poodle
Section 3: Belgian small dogs
Section 4: Hairless dogs
Section 5: Tibetan dogs
Section 6: Chihuahueño
Section 7: English Spaniel for company
Section 8: Japanese and Pekingese Spaniels
Section 9: Companion Dwarf Continental Spaniel
Section 10: Kromfohrländer
Section 11: Molosoides small

Group 10: Lebreles

Section 1: Sighthound long or wavy hair
Section 2: Hardhaired hares
Section 3: Short-haired greyhounds

Use of cookies

This web site uses cookies so that you have the best user experience. If you continue browsing you are giving your consent for the acceptance of the aforementioned cookies and the acceptance of our cookies policy, Click the link for more information.plugin cookies

Notice of cookies